Homemade Tomato Soup

Yesterday’s shopping trip prompted me to search for a tomato soup recipe online last night. With 3 lbs of tomatoes I needed a good use for them! After stuffing and roasting some of them for dinner last night, I had just enough to make tomato soup based off this Tyler Florence Recipe. Of course I modified it a bit to suit what I had on hand, but it is still absolutely wonderful. It would be fantastic with a grilled cheese sandwich…too bad I can’t have one right now! Here is what I did for the recipe:

Tomato Soup

2 1/2 lbs roma tomatoes

1 onion cut up

6 cloves garlic peeled

olive oil (I just drizzled…1/4 c or so I suppose)

salt and pepper

3 c chicken broth (I used bullion and water…out of chicken broth/stock)

4 tsp butter (I used a lower fat yogurt margarine for my diet restrictions)

2 bay leaves

dried basil (I just dumped…maybe  1 T or so)

Cut tomatoes in half and put them the onion and garlic on cookie sheet with sides. Drizzle with olive oil and douse with salt and pepper. Roast at 450º for about 25 min. Bring stock, butter, bay leaves, and basil to boil. Add roasted tomatoes, onions and garlic. Simmer 20 min. Puree in blender.  I portioned mine out and froze most of it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joseph
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 20:15:31

    cool

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Pantry Challenge is Done! « Coby's Corner
  3. Trackback: Homemade “Sun Dried” Tomatoes « Coby's Corner
  4. Trackback: Grocery Totals for this Week 2/4 « Coby's Corner

Leave a comment