Frugal Tip of the Week: Homemade Dawn Direct Foam and Clorox Anywhere Spray

I guess I have a little theme going with my frugal tips for the time being! Here we are again with homemade cleaners! I absolutly love Dawn’s Direct foam dish soap, but I do not like the price at around $3. Did you know it’s mostly water? Yep, they put less soap in and more water and charge you more! One day, when my pump was empty I thought to myself, “hey, let’s just fill this thing up with a little soap and water and see what happens.” So, I did. What do you know….it works just as good! Yippee!!! Can you see me doing a little dance?

All you need is a empty direct foam botttle and some regular dish soap. Yes, I realize you will have to buy a direct foam to start out, but they last a long time. I have had this one for 2 years and it’s just as good as new. Here is the fancy recipe…pour some of the regular dish soap (that you bought on sale with a coupon I hope!) into the direct foam bottle. I don’t measure, but I would imagine about a tablespoon or so. Fill er up with water, screw on the lid and shake. Your bottle of dish soap will last and last and last and last and last…you get the picture?!?!

Next on the list. Clorox Anywhere Spray. This is a great product. I really do like it. You can sanitize food surfaces without rinsing and it is safe to use around children. Guess what….it’s mostly water too! Being a former health inspector (for restaurants) I know how important it is to sanitize surfaces that have come in contact with foods that may contain food born pathogen to prevent cross contamination. Sanitizing was always a key point in our inpections. The state of California (I would imagine this is true in other states as well) recommends that restaurants use a mixture of bleach and water for their sanitizing solution. This is what is in Clorox Anywhere Spray. Yep, that’s it…regular old bleach and water. Put it in any clean spray bottle’ as long as it did not contain any ammonia, and you’re done!

Clorox Anywhere Spray Recipe:

1 1/2 teaspoons bleach

22 oz of water

Visit Frugal Friday’s over at Life as Mom for more great frugal tips!

 

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl @ Moms In Need of Mercy
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 21:08:40

    How funny! I just posted right after you on Frugal Fridays with a homemade version of Clorox Clean-Up with Bleach. I guess great minds think alike, right?! 😉
    It is amazing how little bleach one needs to sanitize (and how cheap it is to make it ourselves)!

    Reply

  2. niki
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 06:39:29

    I can’t believe that is all there is in the Everywhere spray! Well, I guess I can. They’ll do anything to turn a buck, huh?

    I will be making my own from now on. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Frugal Tip of the Week: Homemade Daily Granite Spray/Cleaner « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

