Happy New Year and a Pantry Challenge!

Happy New Year to all! This year has already posed some challenges for me. My doctor has placed me on a special diet to help regulate my hormones associated with my Polycystic Ovary Syndrome. I guess I have a forced New Year’s Resolution this year, but that’s ok. To me, modifying my diet and letting my body regulate itself is better that living on hormone supplements for the rest of my life. That will be my biggest challenge this year. Basically, I have to eat like a diabetic.

For the month of January, I am doing a pantry challenge along with many others over at Good Cheap Eats. What does that mean? Well it can be lots of things. For us it means that I will only be purchasing produce and dairy for the entire month of January. Everything else will come out of my stockpile in my pantry or freezer or made from scratch! I participated in this last year and was able to keep my monthly grocery spending to under $50 for my family of 3 for the entire month! With my dietary restrictions this year I am going to increase my budget to $100, but I am really hoping I can still keep it at around $50. We will see how it goes and I will update throughout the month to keep you up to speed with our progress.

I have been really slacking lately with the meal planning, so I do not have one made yet for the month. My plan for today, since Lance heads back to school, is to take inventory of what is actually in the freezer! A scary thought….they are both super full! I will be writing everything down and hopefully devising a system so that I can keep better track of what is in there instead of relying on my noggin to remember it all. That means emptying them out and organizing. I think I have a big task ahead of me today!

Stay tuned…

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. den walker
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 08:18:53

    What a great idea re pantry challenge. Re the new diet take a look at hungry girl website. Not all diabetic friendly but her recipes are delish and you will find many diabetic friendly.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A Clean Freezer and a Freezer Inventory Sheet « Coby's Corner
  3. Trackback: My First Trip to the Store on the Pantry Challenge « Coby's Corner
  4. Trackback: Menu Plan for the Week « Coby's Corner
  5. Trackback: Keeping Tabs on My Grocery Bill « Coby's Corner
  6. Trackback: Grocery Update « Coby's Corner
  7. Trackback: Menu Plan For the Week « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

