Make Ahead Holiday Mashed Potatoes

I would have to say that mashed potatoes are one of my all time favorite foods. They are the ULTIMATE comfort food for me. If I’m sick, or stressed or just hungry, they are a go to staple for me. I just don’t like having to make them every time I am craving them. That’s where grandma’s Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes come in really handy. They can be made and stored in the fridge for up to 2 weeks or frozen without losing their texture when thawed. Plus they taste amazing! Give these babies a try for the holidays. Who doesn’t love side dishes you can make in advance? One less thing to do on the big day, just heat and eat!

Refrigerator Mashed Potatoes

5 lbs russet potatoes peeled (if you don’t want peelings on) and cubed

8 oz cream cheese

1 cup sour cream

2 Tbsp butter

1 tsp salt

2 tsp onion salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Boil and mash potatoes. Add everything else and beat until creamy. Put in a casserole and and dot top with butter. Bake at 350º until hot about 25 min. If refrigerated, they may take up to an hour. To freeze these, I like to use my large cookie scoop (1/4 cup) and plop them down on a cookie sheet and freeze until hard…about 2 hours. Then place in baggies. Just pull out what you need for dinner and microwave or heat in the oven if you like. Mashed potatoes any night of the week or for breakfast…I don’t know ANYONE who does that. Oh wait, maybe that’s me!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Babygirl
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 20:17:18

    I love the idea of making things ahead of time. Very n ice post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

