Spiderman Party….with Recipes!

My son turned 4 last week! I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. He really wanted a Spiderman themed party, so he got one. I made invitations in my computer word processor that looked like concert tickets by using this as inspiration and printing them on card stock. They were a huge hit with Lance and his friends!

Of course I had to make a cake, so off to the internet I went in search of an idea. I was browsing through photos on flickr when Lance came over and said he wanted the cake I was looking at right at that moment. Luckily it wasn’t too elaborate and was totally doable. I then asked Lance if he wanted white or chocolate cake and he decided this year he wanted chocolate. We have a favorite chocolate cake recipe around here that is out of my grandma’s huge cookbook. So here it is….

Moist Chocolate Cake

2 cups flour

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

1/4 tsp salt

Sift the above together (I never use a sifter, I just stir with a wisk!)

Add:

1 cup oil

1 cup buttermilk I used the real thing this time but you can use THIS

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

Beat well. Then beat in 1 cup boiling water. The batter will be thin. Makes 2-3 9 inch layers depending on how thick you want them or 1 9×13. Bake at 350 for about 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Since we were making a tiered cake I needed layers, and therefore filling. I decided to take grandma’s sour cream filling and make it chocolate! YUM!

Chocolate Sour Cream Filling

1 cup sour cream

1 scant cup sugar

4 egg yolks

pinch of salt

I just realized the recipe calls for 1 tsp of flour…I didn’t do that and it was fine!

1 tsp vanilla

1-2 oz of baking chocolate squares depending on how strong of a chocolate flavor you want

Boil everything but vanilla and chocolate until thick in a double boiler. Stir in chocolate and vanilla. Cool before using!!!

As far as the frosting goes I used this one which has quickly become a favorite around here. Just make sure to BEAT, BEAT, BEAT it. Mine takes about 12 minutes on high!

I also made some marshmallow fondant to make buildings on the side of the cake. To make impressions of windows on the edge I use legos! Washed ones of course!

Want to see the final product….I know you do…

I also made Spiderman sugar cookies to send home in the kids goody bags. I did them about a week in advance and kept them in the freezer until the day of the party to preserve freshness. This is the first I have used Royal Icing to decorate cookies. It was a lot of fun, but a lot of work too! I used this fabulous tutorial and icing recipe to learn what to do! I used a recipe from the grandma’s cookbook for the sugar cookies.

Rolled Sugar Cookies

1 cup powdered sugar

1 cup softened butter

1 egg

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. soda

1 tsp. cream of tartar

dash of salt

1 tsp vanilla

Cream sugar, butter and egg. Add everything else and mix well. Roll on a floured surface to about 1/4″. Cut with your favorite cookie cutter. Bake at 350° for about 8 min. Cool then frost.

And my finished cookies looked like this:

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Princess Themed Birthday Cake « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

