Frugal Tip of the Week: Homemade Microwave Popcorn

I don’t know about you but popcorn is one of my favorite foods. It conjures up memories of childhood and going to the movies. I have even been known to eat popcorn for dinner! I love to pair it with something a bit sweet like chocolate to get that wonderful sweet and salty combination! Several months ago when I was browsing one of my favorite how to sites I came across a way to make microwave popcorn at home! I loved the idea of getting rid of the preservatives and fake butter flavor of microwave popcorn and moving toward a healthier substitute that was just as easy to make. Especially since I don’t have an air popper or a whirley pop for the stove. Plus, it is so much cheaper than buying pre-made microwave bags since a pound of popcorn is about $0.99…right up my alley for sure! I got the idea from this instructable. It is super simple. Take a paper lunch sack put 1/4 cup of popcorn in there. You can add a little oil and salt at this point if you want, but I pop mine plain with nothing. Fold the top of the bag down about and inch and staple with 2 staples. Don’t worry your microwave won’t blow up or anything! Pop on high until the popping slows to a few seconds between pops. I like to add melted butter and salt after the popcorn is done. It is also good with parmesan cheese sprinkled on it. Or if you want it super healthy…don’t add the butter 🙂 Simple, good and cheap. My kind of snack. Don’t throw away left overs! I will be posting more recipes of what to make with popcorn as the week progresses!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Easy Carmel Corn « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

