Frugal Tip of the Week: Homemade Body Scrub

My son and I have a skin condition called Keratosis Pilaris. Our bodies make excess keratin in our hair follicles that causes bumps and redness on our arms and legs. Also, our bodies to not slough off skin cells as easily as other people. I have found that using cold pressed coconut oil on our skin as lotion has dramatically improved the redness and bumps.  What has helped even more for me is making my own exfoliating sugar scrub (I don’t use this on my 3 year old’s delicate skin). I have an old cream cheese container that I put a few tablespoons of the oil in and soften the oil a bit (it is solid until 76°) I then add sugar until it makes a paste. You can also do this with salt if you prefer. Then I store this in my shower. Before I get wet I rub this on my arms and legs. It is just like those fancy sugar or salt scrubs you can buy at stores like the body shop for pennies comparatively. Coconut oil is not the most frugal choice for lotion, but it works better for our skin than other lotions. My target price is under $0.50/oz, which is fairly easy to find in a  health food store in the cooking oils. Just make sure to buy cold pressed oil with no fillers. I like to buy organic as well. One way that I save on my coconut oil is earning amazon gift cards by searching the web with Swagbucks. I then use those gift cards to purchase the coconut oil!

You don’t have to have a skin condition to enjoy a body scrub though. It is a wonderful way to soften the skin. Another great thing…you know exactly what you are putting on your skin. There are not 30 ingredients that you can’t pronounce. It is all natural!

*Just a note, you don’t have to use coconut oil. You can use almond oil, lavender oil, Cocoa butter or even olive oil. And those are just a few! Use whatever you like.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kellydetwiler
    May 17, 2010 @ 14:19:02

    this is a GREAT idea! I have the same skin condition and I spend a fortune on scrubs to get rid of the bumps and redness, I will be making my own scrub for sure!!!! Great tip:-) I also wanted to mention that I use this soap (you can get it at target or trader joes, it’s less at TJ’s) it is called Dr. Bronners Pure Castile soap. It is AMAZING! It has made my skin bumps and redness fade quite a bit, I still need that extra scrub but this stuff is amazing, and it makes you smell minty fresh and tingly all over:-)

    Reply

  2. assummaniot
    May 23, 2010 @ 12:21:04

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,

    Reply

  3. assummaniot
    May 29, 2010 @ 12:11:50

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Reply

  4. naturalbuzz
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 07:51:39

    Coconut oil is amazing not only as a body lotion , there are so many uses for it ,i actually wrote a blog about coconut oil a couple of days ago just some information on why it is good and what you can do with it , if you want to check it out here is the link

    http://naturalbuzz.wordpress.com/2010/07/12/what-is-in-an-ingredient-coconut-oil/

    I also posted a blog for a homemade deep exfoliating scrub if you are interested

    http://naturalbuzz.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/homemade-deep-exfoliation-body-scrub/

    I love natural beauty products and homemade treatments so i blog about them have a read you might find something that will help you out

    Reply

Leave a Reply

