Frugal Tip of the Week: Homemade Daily Shower Spray

I don’t know about you, but cleaning is not something I enjoy. I did not get that clean freak, neat freak gene that is floating around my family. So, I like to find things that make cleaning easier for me…and also frugal of course! I hate scrubbing my shower. I think it may be the thing in the house that I hate cleaning the most. I love the daily shower sprays, but I don’t love their price. The refill for the scrubbing bubbles automatic shower cleaner is $4.64 on amazon right now. That is not a price I want to pay!!! I have combined ingredients from a few different daily shower recipes that I have found online and found one that works well for my shower and water hardness. Now, this recipe may not be the best for everyone. I think it really depends on the materials of your shower and your water. I have a glass and ceramic tile shower with moderately hard water and this recipe works really well at keep the shower clean so that I clean it less often. LOVE THAT! I have not done the math for a bottle of this, but I know it is under a $1 per bottle, it may be under $0.50 if you use coupons to buy your dish soap and dish washing aid!

Daily Shower Spray

In a 32 oz spray bottle mix:

2 cups white vinegar

1-2 T dishwasher rinse aid like jet dry

1 T or so of dawn dishsoap

water to fill bottle

Spray the entire shower after use and walk away! I have read that you can add essential oil like lemon or lavender to help disguise the vinegar smell. I use vinegar to clean many things in my house so it doesn’t really bother me. You can also put this mixture in the bottle of one of those scrubbing bubbles automatic shower sprayers. I did that until mine died, now I just use a spray bottle.

If this doesn’t seem to be working for your shower, do a google search and there are a ton of different recipes out there. Many use rubbing alcohol and hydrogen peroxide, it may be trial and error for what works best in your house.


1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    May 13, 2010 @ 22:39:45

    I love this idea…I hate cleaning showers. Anything to make it less often 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

