Baking Day: Mother’s Day Lemon Bundt Cake

I am lucky, I have a never ending supply of lemons. However, that means I need to find ways to use all of these lemons. I have come up with a to die for lemon bundt cake recipe with just a few tweaks to a boxed mix. It has a wonderful tartness that goes so well with the sweetness of the cake and glaze. It’s ooey,  gooey good.  I am making this for my mom this weekend. It is one of her favorites, and mine, and my husband and just about anyone else who has tasted it! My dear hubby even thought I should enter it into the pillsbury bake off, but you can’t enter using one of their cake mixes….bummer no million dollar prize for me! But, you all get to benefit instead. I will share my wisdom! I don’t have a picture of the cake because I haven’t made it yet! Trust me it is outstanding. Oh, and it’s low fat…bonus!

Coby’s Lemon Bundt Cake

1 white cake mix (can use yellow too) I have done it with pillsbury and duncan hines brands

3 eggs

1/3 cup plain non fat yogurt

1 cup lemon juice

Zest of one lemon

Glaze:

1/3 cup lemon juice

1 cup sugar

Mix ingredients for about 2 minutes. Bake in greased bundt pan for about 35 minutes at 350° or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan onto a cooling rack on a cookie sheet or foil or something to catch the drips from the glaze. Brush on glaze while cake is still warm. Do it slowly so it can soak into the cake. Cool. Put on serving plate. Cover and let sit several hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

