Frugal Tip of the Week: Always Have Snacks and Water

I’m still here, I promise. It has been a crazy few weeks around here and I have not been able to do as much writing lately as I like. It’s not for lack of ideas that is for sure. I just have to commit to the time to sit down and write. For all of you with kids out there, you understand that sometimes life just gets in the way. I have mother duties and wife duties and on and on the list goes. Those tend to take priority over blogging. Imagine that! I have a few minutes to sit and write this afternoon, so here I go.

My frugal tip for this week is to be prepared when you leave the house. Especially if you have little ones. I always take a snack for my little guy in the car or in my purse. This saves me from the inevitable, “Mom, I’m hungry” in the middle of running errands or driving to and from places. I like to pack things like granola bars, raisins, crackers or pretzels. Since I have a snack with me I can just pull it out and save a trip through the drive thru or an impulse item at the grocery store. It is usually enough to tide him over until we get home or to the next meal. Don’t just take this advice for your kiddos….it’s for you too. Take something for you too. I know, novel concept right?! We are just as guilty of those impulse items as our kids! Going out prepared has saved me more money than I can imagine over time and it’s so simple!

Here in So Cal it’s hot in the summer. I ALWAYS and I mean always, leave the house with a bottle of water. AND not a throw away disposable one. I have several reusable water bottles that I fill with ice water before leaving the house. Just like I grab my purse and phone, I grab my water. It keeps me from having to stop and buy something because I’m thirsty and it keeps my water intake up. I get to be frugal and healthy at the same time. Love that! If you’re not a big water drinker, you can take crystal light or another beverage from home. They are always cheaper than stopping at the gas station to buy one! Another bonus, if you get in this habit during the summer months when it’s hot outside you can continue it through the winter when we tend to not drink as much water as we should.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. niki
    May 07, 2010 @ 12:35:37

    Great post! I am trying to train my hubby and kiddo to get on board with this. I do it all the time…buying drinks out and about is such a ripoff.
    🙂

    Stop by and visit me over at Free 2 Be Frugal sometime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

