Baking Day: Cupcakes with a New Frosting Recipe

About a month ago, I won a giveaway on another blog for some free Duncan Hines product coupons. I had picked up some confetti cupcake mix with those coupons. I thought Lance would like them. Since Lance has been home sick from school this week I decided it was time to break out the cupcakes. We whipped up a batch of the confetti cupcakes, but they needed frosting. So, yesterday I went on a search for a new fluffy cupcake frosting. I am not new to making frosting. I have done my son’s birthday cake for 3 years from scratch with homemade frosting, but I was a bit tired of plain old buttercream and I wanted something lighter in texture, but still with good flavor.  While searching, I stumbled across this amazing recipe. I thought it sounded a little strange starting with a white sauce and then using regular sugar instead of powdered, but this frosting is so good. It’s light and airy, not too sweet, but has a much better flavor than a whipped cream icing that still lets the taste of the cake shine through. With a little blue gel food coloring I had a beautiful color and texture to pipe onto the cupcakes (just use a ziplock with the corner cut off). We had a fun and beautiful snack yesterday, yes I know not the healthiest, but who doesn’t need a little cake in their life!!!

Here are the cakes I have made in the past for Lance. All homemade cake and frosting.

White chocolate white cake with buttercream.

Chocolate cake with colored plain whipped cream for icing.

White cake with buttercream and rice crispie treat whale covered in marshmallow fondant.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Spiderman Party….with Recipes! « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

