Homemade Granola Bars

I don’t know about you, but I love granola bars. I don’t love the price or all the junk that goes into them. Many of them are just as bad as a candy bar! I decided to go on a quest for a yummy recipe. This is the third recipe that I have tried, but it is by far my favorite so far and oh so chewy. Love that! I based my granola bars on this recipe over here with great pictures and tutorial to follow. If you are a regular reader, you know that this week I am challenging myself to not spend any money besides gas (and regular bills). So, I had to tweak the recipe to fit what I had on hand. I tend to do that a lot!

Here is what I put in mine:

Granola Bars

2 cups oats (I buy mine at Sam’s club since I use so many)

3/4 cup ground flax seeds

3/4 cup sunflower seeds (I buy the shelled ones at Dollar Tree, should be enough for 2 and 1/2 batches from one bag for $1!)

1 cup raw almonds ground in my blender, lance doesn’t really like big nut chunks (I also buy these at Sam’s)

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup honey

4 oz butter

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp almond extract

dried fruit, original recipe calls for 8 oz. I had 2 boxes of raisins and 3 organic fruit leathers from target in pomegranate and apricot,  which I cut into small pieces. My raisins were quite hard, so I soaked them it a bit of hot water for a few minutes to plump them back up….just a tip for you!

Toast the top 4 ingredients in the oven at 400° for about 10 minutes stirring every couple of minutes. Bring the butter, sugar and honey to a simmer. Add the extracts. Pour over toasted mixture, add fruit and mix well. Press into a 9×13 lined with waxed paper and greased. Press hard to compact it with another piece of greased waxed paper. Let cool. Cut and store in air tight container or freezer. I like to wrap mine individually for a grab and go snack. I got 16 large bars. You can cut them any size you like. I split them in half for Lance.

The next batch I plan on substituting the butter with peanut butter and omitting the brown sugar and adding chocolate chip in stead of fruit. YUM!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 10:04:21

    Love the idea! I’ll be trying these this week as a snack for my hubby. He’s always hungry! It also looks like a great treat to bring to the softball games (for me and the players!). Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

