Frugal tip of the Week: Stay out of the Stores!

My frugal tip this week is to frankly, stay away from the stores. Yes, I know this is not rocket science and it is really obvious. But, I would say for me, this is the one of the hardest challenges. I have learned over the past year and a half that I save a lot of money when I just don’t shop. For me this takes a lot of self discipline! I love to shop.

In January I participated in an eat from the pantry challenge with several other bloggers. I went the entire month only buying milk and produce and spent under $50 for the month on groceries. I highly encourage you to try this challenge at some point. It doesn’t have to be for an entire month, but just try a week to not buy groceries. Be creative in the kitchen and eat up those odds and ends that are lurking in the back of your pantry that you bought for a meal that never got made. It was very enlightening for me to know that I keep a well stocked pantry/freezer and was able to feed my family with no difficulty for a month. I bet there is plenty of food in your pantry too!

I am going to make a challenge for myself this week, starting now…monday 4-19-10 at 3:15 pm, I am not going to spend any money for the next 7 days. The only exception I will make for myself is to buy gas for the car so that I can get Lance to and from school. Other than that, I am making this a no spending week. I wish I could get Dallas in on this but he is going to Las Vegas for a bachelor party this weekend, so I know for him this will not work! I have a pot luck to go to on Saturday, so I will have to make something out of the pantry to take. I will also have Lance by myself for the weekend and we will need activities. This weekend it will be going to the park, library (maybe renting a movie from there), gardening in the yard, cooking in the kitchen and other free activities. Anyone want to join me?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Homemade Granola Bars « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

