What’s for Dinner: Breakfast for Dinner!

We deviated from the menu plan for the month! Oh no….well not really, we just didn’t feel like what was on the menu for tonight, so we changed it. That’s ok, the meal plan is just a guide. Our dinners are not set in stone. I think many people who are new to meal planning feel like they have to make what is on the list and only what is on the list. That can drive a person mad…well me anyway. Don’t get me wrong, I love my meal plan for the month. It usually is very helpful to me so that we can avoid the “what do you want for dinner”, “I don’t know, what sounds good” conversations! Sometimes, it just doesn’t cut it!

So tonight, breakfast for dinner! Yum. We had whole grain oatmeal pancakes with blueberries and bacon. This pancake recipe is one of my grandma’s many recipes and was a favorite of my grandpa’s and mine for many years of my life! I still love it, although I have tweeked it a little to make is completely whole grain. Big surprise right?!?!?!

Oatmeal Pancakes

2 cups oatmeal

2 cups of buttermilk

Mix and let sit a couple minutes.

Add:

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour (you can use all purpose white too)

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 eggs beaten

Cook on hot griddle and serve with your favorite toppings. Griddle is hot when you sprinkle water on it and it dances before evaporating.

Leave a Reply

