April Freezer Cooking Results Part 2

Yesterday I finished up my freezer cooking….well almost….I didn’t get to the tortillas for the second month in a row. I tend to leave them til last and I run out of steam. Maybe next month I should tackle them first! Maybe then I would have better luck actually making the tortillas ahead.

I had a busier day yesterday and only made 2 things, BBQ Bacon Cheeseburger Muffin Bites and Freezer Cinnamon Rolls.

The muffin bites were inspired by these pizza muffin bites. All I did was use some of the pizza dough from the day before. Divide it into 24 pieces and press into greased muffin tins. Add BBQ sauce, about a teaspoon or so. We like Sweet Baby Ray’s around these parts. Add some seasoned cooked ground beef and crispy bacon pieces. Cover with cheese. I used sharp cheddar since that is what I had on hand. I have also made them with cheddar/jack as well. Bake at 350° for 25 min. Remove from pan and cool on a rack. Freeze in baggies or containers. Heat in the microwave about 30 seconds per muffin. I have made the pizza version as well as ham and cheese ones in last month’s freezer cooking.

Here's my assembly process.

Finished product.

As for the freezer cinnamon rolls, I forgot to take a picture. I am feeling lazy and don’t want to dig them out of the freezer for a photo shoot. So, you can go HERE to see the recipe as well as fabulous yummy pictures of these wonderful thigh expanders. I did not use the frosting recipe from there. Dallas does not like a full on cream cheese icing, so I made my own. The recipe makes 12 big cinnamon rolls. I freeze on the pan after the second rise then put them in baggies. I bake mine at 350 for about 20 minutes straight from the freezer. Squeeze the frosting with your hands until it’s ready to squeeze out of the bag, just cut off the corner and frost the rolls.

Cinnamon Roll Icing

3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 1/2 sticks butter softened

4 oz cream cheese softened

1 teaspoon or so vanilla (I just dumped, so not positive on the amount)

Tablespoon or so of milk for the consistency you like. It is pretty thick

Beat butter and cream cheese and add everything else. Sometimes I also add a bit of almond extract too. If you are not going to bake all 12 cinnamon rolls at once, I would suggest dividing the frosting into baggies for the number of cinnamon rolls you will bake at one time. For us that is 3 rolls….so I divide the frosting into 4 baggies and put those inside the baggies with the rolls. This icing is also good on cake!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 09:29:50

    Wow – both of these sound delicious!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Menu Plan for the Week « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

