Frugal Tip of the Week: Fun in the Kitchen with your Kids

I am a huge advocate of living WITH your kids. Meaning including them in your life in things you do, not just living your life with them as an accessory. I hope that makes sense! One way we practice this in our house is by letting Lance in on all the fun in the kitchen. The other day after dinner. I decided to make a cake, just because I felt like it. I pulled a chair over for Lance and we set to work making a chocolate cake singing a song we made up as we were doing it. “Today is a special day. Today is Chocolate cake day!” That was our song. We sang and mixed up our ingredients. My husband was on the phone with my brother while we were doing this, and they were both getting a kick out of our wackiness. But hey, we were having fun and that’s all that matters! Lance helped me measure, pour and stir. Once we got the cake in the oven, we whipped up some frosting for the top. No recipe, just dumped some butter, cream cheese, powdered sugar, milk, vanilla and almond flavor in the bowl and mixed it up. As you can see in the picture, Lance really enjoyed licking the frosting off the mixing paddle!

Including your kids in the kitchen is a great way to have frugal fun with them. Especially since it was something you were going to be doing anyway, why not let them learn and have fun with it. They really enjoy helping out and eating whatever they make. I also let Lance help me make dinner quite often. He eats so much better when he was the one to make it. I think it’s a sense of pride in knowing he put the work into the food. It is a great way to practice his counting, learning volume and fractions. I can tell you I learned all my fractions, and their relationships to each other, from baking in the kitchen as a child. By the time I got to fractions in school, I was practically an expert! Who doesn’t love a little math lesson along with the fun!

They may make a mess, but hey, that’s half the fun! They you can teach them to clean up after themselves by including them in the cleanup as well. Life lessons are just as important as math lessons! Just remember to enjoy every minute you have with them. They grow so fast and change everyday.

Leave a Reply

