Baking Day: Monster Cookies

Where to start with monster cookies….it is not a family function around these parts without monster cookies. Whether it’s a holiday or a baby shower, we have monster cookies. These are probably the favorite cookie out of “the book”. You know, that cookbook of my grandma’s that I talk about. I don’t know how you can top the chewy, peanut buttery, chocolate goodness of these cookies. Are you drooling yet? I am, but I am smelling these baking in the oven right now!!!

So you have fair warning, these need a big bowl to mix up. I mean as big as you have!

Monster Cookies

5 eggs

2 1/4 cups brown sugar

2 cups white sugar

1 cup butter-softened

Cream the above together. Then beat in:

2 2/3 cups peanut butter

8 cups oatmeal

1 1/4 tablespoons baking soda

Then stir in:

12 oz bag chocolate chips (I like milk chocolate)

1 lb bag of M&Ms (I used easter colored ones since they were on sale)

Drop by 1/4 cup on greased baking sheets. I like to use my large cookie scoop for this. Flatten them a bit with your fingers or the bottom of a glass. Bake at 350° for 8-9 minutes. Do not overbake! These are supposed to be chewy. Let cool on pan for 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack.

These are a flourless cookie! And, even better, all whole grain. Although, I think the amount of butter and sugar counteract the whole grains, but I still like to think of them as a healthier cookie! They are great for breakfast….yes I eat cookies for breakfast!

If you are a big peanut butter fans like we are, I highly recommend making them with peanut butter chips and Reese’s pieces in place of the M&Ms and chocolate chips for a total peanut butter party in your mouth!

Visit the Ultimate Recipe Swap this week as Life as Mom for more baked goods recipes.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

Leave a Reply

