Homemade Chicken Stock Tutorial

In my Frugal Tip of the Week post the other day I said I would show you how I make homemade chicken stock from the bones of my whole chicken. After dinner was done the other night. I made sure to save any bones from the meal, then I cut off the rest of the meat on the chicken and cut it up to use in my white chicken enchiladas for tonight. I saved all the skin and bones and threw them in the crockpot with some veggies. You can use whatever you have on had to help flavor your stock. I added celery, onions and garlic as well as salt, poultry seasoning and lemon pepper. I cut the onions in quarters and pulled them a part a bit. I just broke the celery in 2 and smashed and peeled the garlic and threw them in. No fancy chopping, it’s just there for flavor.

Add the bones and skin from the chicken and fill the crockpot up with water. Turn it on low and leave it overnight to cook. Mine cooked about 12 hours. It will look like this in the morning with a lovely color:

Now spoon out all the big chunks with a slotted spoon into the trash. Pour the broth through a strainer into a container. I highly recommend doing this in the sink, it can make a real mess!

Cool the broth in the fridge. There will be a fat layer on the top after it’s cool. Just spoon that off. Now your broth is ready to use for soups or to cook rice or any other recipe you have that calls for broth. Or, you can pour it into those containers you have been saving and put it in the freezer for later. This will make about a gallon or so. It depends on the size of your crockpot! And it is so much better than the canned stuff you buy, it has more flavor and nutrients and you control what goes in it, like the salt! Enjoy your super cheap chicken stock!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Monthly Menu and Freezer Plan Cooking for April « Coby's Corner
  2. Trackback: April Freezer Cooking Results and Recipes Part 1 « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

