Baking Day: Whole Wheat Tortilla Tutorial

At the beginning of the month, I did a whole day of freezer cooking, but I never got to my tortillas that were on my list. I finally got to them today, only because I needed them for dinner tonight! I decided I would post a little tutorial for all of you on how I do my tortillas from scratch. Now, these are burrito type tortillas, the thin and flexible kind based off of this recipe. I did change it a bit to make them whole wheat, and of course I used my secret ingredient!

Whole Wheat Tortillas

2 cups whole wheat flour (I just used the gold medal kind)

3/4 tsp salt

3 T bacon grease (the secret ingredient! you can use shortening or vegetable oil instead)

1 cup warm water (the original recipe for white flour only uses 3/4 c, but the whole wheat needs more)

Mix the salt and flour. Use your hands to rub in the bacon grease or shortening. Slowly add the water and mix into a sticky ball. Knead the dough on a lightlu floured surface for about 3-4 minutes (if you are using white flour 1-2 minutes is fine). Cover with a damp cloth for 15 minutes. I did mine in my mixer.

This batch makes 8, 10 inchish tortillas. Divide the dough into 8 equal portions and shape into balls. Place on a cookie sheet or plate. Cover with the damp towel for 30 minutes. I press my dough into a 6 inch or so round and cut like a pizza to divide.

Now it’s time to roll. But first, put your pan on med/high heat. These need to be rolled out by hand and it takes a bit of practice. Mine are not perfect circles, but they are good enough and taste wonderful! The rolling is a 2 part process. Lay out a piece of wax paper or parchment paper. Press the dough ball out flat on a floured surface to about 4 inches like this:

Then roll out in the best circle you can. I find working from the center out working your way around does a pretty good job. With this first roll you will only get them to about 8 inches or so, then they start to shrink back on themselves if you try to roll them more. Place this partially rolled tortilla on the parchment/wax paper to rest and let the gluten relax under the damp towel while you work the others. Only layer them 4 deep and put a bit of flour in between them to keep them from sticking. Keep track of which ones you do first so you know which ones to start with on the next round. DO NOT RUSH THIS STEP AND TRY TO JUST ROLL THEM BIG HERE! Ask me how I know it doesn’t work!!!!

Ok, now you can roll them big and thin. Start with the first one you rolled originally and work your way through. I cook them as I go and get into a rhythm. This takes some practice though so you may want to roll one and cook it before starting on the next one. Have a thick clean towel handy to put your cooked tortillas on and covered while you work on the rest of them. Roll them out to 10-12 inches. Make sure they are thin! I have a lefsa stick that I use to transfer mine to the hot pan. Lefsa is a Norwegian potato tortilla like thing. I had my mom pick me up one of these sticks last summer when she was visiting my grandma in South Dakota. I can’t find them here in Cali, and they work so nicely for the tortilla transfers! That’s what that wooden stick is in the picture.


Cook them for about 30 seconds or so on each side. I like to push the tortilla a bit with the back of my spatula to keep the bubble from getting too big.

Here they are all done and hot. I ate one with some honey hot off the grill. Well, I had to test them out you know!!! Mmmmm, heaven! After tasting homemade tortillas, you won’t want those nasty things from the store. These are infinitely much better!



Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Monthly Menu and Freezer Plan Cooking for April « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

