Crafting: My Finished Felted Slippers

A few weeks ago I posted about the norwegian house slippers I was in the process of crocheting. I am happy to report that they are now finished, comfy, warm and slip resistant! I finished crocheting them not long after my original post. I did alternate the colors a bit so I could tell left from right. I then felted them in my washing machine to shrink them up and make them solid (so you can’t see the stitches).This did take a while in my front loader and I had to keep pulling them out to check the size. They are a little wider than they need to be, but since they are just slippers, I don’t mind that. It just makes them extra comfy! After they came out of the wash, I stuffed them with some plastic bags to hold the shape and set them aside to dry. The drying process took about a week since my slippers were so thick when felted down. I did take the plastic out after a couple days to make sure the inside dried well. My husband picked me up some plasti-dip at home depot to put on the bottom to make them slip resistant. Since our house is all wood, felted slippers can be dangerous! It took two coats that I spooned on and spread around with a plastic spoon. I love them! Now Lance wants a pair too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 16:34:32

    Hey!

    I am a pretty crafty/artsy person and I want to try to make these. But I was curios on a couple things. If you did 19×19 for size 7 1/2 how big should my squares be for a 8 1/2 in mens?

    And The other random thing is. I what to wear these outside. So I was thinking of using some flip slop soles with the straps cut off or out and some fabric glue to attach them to the soles.

    what do you think?

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

