31 Days to a Better Grocery Budget

Last week I shared with you a series that Money Saving Mom is running on her website this month on how to save money in your grocery budget. Her most recent post about The Buy Ahead Principle, aka stockpiling, for me has been the biggest money saver. In a sense, I have been practicing this my whole life. Even as a child we bought things when they were on sale and stocked up on those items for later use. These were mostly food items like canned goods, baking supplies, pasta, cereal and such. I took this philosophy with me when I moved out on my own and have been using the strategy in my grocery buying for the last 10 years.  It has only been the past few years where I have taken it to another level and started really using coupons and sales to stockpile items like toothpaste, shampoo, lotion, makeup, razors, shaving cream etc. I highly encourage you to start this practice, even if it is just a little at a time.

Another bonus to this method of buying groceries….I always have enough food on hand to last us a month or more. If we really need to tighten our belt with the budget or we have an emergency, like an earthquake, we have food on hand that can feed us for quite some time without frequent trips to the store!

Leave a Reply

