Whats for Dinner? Homemade Pizza Tutorial

Pizza….we are passionate about pizza around here. Is there a food that is more perfect? Cheese, bread, tomato, toppings….mmmmmm…it’s calling my name! If you can’t tell, we like pizza. Want proof, check my monthly menu. We have it every week. Usually on Thursday nights. If we were to purchase pizza every week we would spend about $60 a month on pizza alone! That is way too much $$$ for me and I like pizza too much to give it up, so now I make my own. And it’s good…really good. I prefer it over most pizza places and so does Dallas! Don’t even try and compare it to frozen grocery store pizza, it is sooooooooooo much better. I buy my cheese at Sam’s club and freeze it, which is way cheaper than the grocery store sales. Then I buy plain tomato sauce. With sales and coupons this can be purchased really cheap! I got 24, 8oz cans at Walgreens this fall for free with a Walgreens circular coupon stacked with a Hunt’s coupon. Can’t beat that! I also wait for pepperoni to go on sale and stock up the freezer when it does! The dough only costs me a few cents to make, so it all adds up to be a lot cheaper than Domino’s or Pizza Hut.

You will need a few kitchen tools:

  • a good thick pizza stone or unglazed quarry tile. Mine is a well seasoned pampered chef 15″ stone.
  • parchment paper (this isn’t absolutely necessary, but makes transfer so much easier)
  • pizza cutter or sharp knife
  • For christmas I got a pizza peel, the flat thing with a handle to transfer the pizzas. Again not absolutely necessary, but a great addition to my kitchen arsenal.

Sauce

You can buy sauce or use your favorite spaghetti sauce. Our favorite is semi-homemade. I have found that an 8 ounce can of tomato sauce is perfect for one 15″ pizza. About a half hour before I want to top my pizza, I make my sauce. I put a bit, just a bit of olive oil in a small sauce pan, heat over medium heat. Add 3 or so minced garlic cloves. Add the sauce. Add about a tablespoon of italian seasoning (I never measure, just dump!). Simmer on low for about half an hour so the sauce reduces and thickens a little bit.

Dough

Now is the time to put your stone in the oven and preheat it along with your oven to 450°. Time for the dough. I spent the better part of last year in search of a great dough recipe. This is it, no kneading!

3 c bread flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 T sugar

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 c water

Stir dry stuff together. Stir in water. Put in baggy or covered bowl in fridge for 18 hours-3 days. If you want to freeze wait until after 18h or so.

I usually have mine premade in the freezer so it’s ready to go. It will get all bubbly and look like this:

Don’t be alarmed. The dough is sticky when you take it out of your bowl/baggie. Dust your surface with a little flour. This would be my parchment paper. Sprinkle a little flour on the top of the dough as well.

Lightly form dough into a ball. Dust your hands with flour and begin to push the dough into a circle. I find that using the heel of my palm works well. Start in the center and work your way out. It takes several minutes to work it out to a nice round….or not so round as mine sometimes are! Just a tip, this dough will rise some in the oven so make it a little thinner that you want when flattening. Another tip, you can divide it into 6 pieces and make individual pizzas. We do this at my mom’s when we have family gatherings with 2 ovens and 2 stones. We have a pizza bar with lots of toppings and everyone makes their own and times their own in the oven. It’s a ton of fun!

Top your pizza with your favorite toppings. We are suckers for a standard pepperoni or italian sausage. But we also enjoy BBQ sauce, cooked chicken, onions with jack/cheddar cheese or ranch with chicken and mozzarella. You can be creative as you want with your toppings and have endless combinations.  Trim the edge of the parchment paper a bit and then transfer your pizza. The tricky part is getting it onto the hot stone. This is where my handy dandy pizza peel comes in. If you don’t have one, take the stone out of the oven and plop the pizza and parchment onto the stone and put it back in the oven. Bake for 10-15 minutes. Depends on how much cheese you put on and how thick your pizza is. If your pizza is doughy and your cheese is done, you may want to put all your toppings on the pizza without the cheese, bake for 5 minutes then add the cheese.

 

 

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 13:35:19

    my hubby and i have a thin crust pizza recipe that we are very loyal too, however we’ve been looking for a thick crust pizza and this one looks great. i will definetely have to try it, thank you for posting!

    Reply

  2. Dean McDermott
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 07:26:24

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

    Reply

  3. George Barr McCutcheon
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 12:47:32

    As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank youWow!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: April Freezer Cooking Results and Recipes Part 1 « Coby's Corner
  5. Trackback: In Honor of Pizza Thursday’s « Coby's Corner
  6. Trackback: Monthly Menu Planning: June’s Menu « Coby's Corner
  7. Trackback: My First Trip to the Store on the Pantry Challenge « Coby's Corner
  8. Trackback: Monthly Menu and Freezer Plan Cooking for April « Coby's Corner
  9. Trackback: Menu Plan for the Week « Coby's Corner
  10. Trackback: Grocery Totals for this Week 2/4 « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

