Home Decor: Think Outside the Box

My cheapness frugalness extends to other parts of my life besides food, groceries, and cleaners. I also apply many of the same techniques for home decor. I love to decorate my home and redecorate and rearrange. I don’t think anyone can, or should, be able to define their house with one particular “style”. Your home is a reflection of you and most people are more dynamic than one style. My home is a collections of things that I (and Dallas too) love  and have purchased over the last 10 years, as well as things I have made. All these things are integrated together to form my own style. I would say we have and eclectic rustic type style. I like things that are comfortable and warm. I use a lot of red, green and brown in my decorating. I also like to do it without spending a ton of money. Don’t get me wrong, there are areas in home decor where it is ok in my book to spend a little more. Take our leather sofa for example. We paid a pretty penny for it, but it took me a long time to find one that I liked and it has a lifetime warranty on the cushions. It is a thick, high quality leather. It will last many, many, many years. But I did get the floor model at a discount! It doesn’t hurt to ask for a discount when making those larger purchases. The worst they can say is, “no”!

As I am typing this ,I am thinking I may start a new series on home decor. I find that thinking outside the box when it comes to home decor can save you a bundle.  Looking at things and thinking about how else they can be used besides their intended purpose. Look at the color, texture and shape. This week I am going to feature some artwork. A few years ago we needed to sell our home and move. I needed to spruce up my bathroom without a lot of money. I got some neutral creamy colored discount paint at Lowes. Look for the premixed “oops” colors near the paint section. These usually are $5-$10 per gallon. Then I got some decorative towels at a discount store. Then the walls needed some pizzaz. Art is expensive.  I needed to make my own. I found 3 square placemats at Bed Bath and Beyond for $1.50 each. I loved the color and texture of them. I then found some botanical graphic images online that I liked. I printed the pictures out on some cream colored paper I had, ripped the edges, crumpled them up and glued them to the placemats. Then I hung them over the toilet. Super cute and super cheap art! I have since moved from that house, but I still use those placemats in my bathroom here. I love them.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. wickedlilith
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 17:12:50

    Whooo! Let’s hear it for the “oops” paint. That’s all I use anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

