Crafting: My in Progress Crocheted Slippers

I learned to crochet when I was about 8 years old from my mom. We were working on  a baby blanket for a family member together. I then lost the art for quite sometime…then in the past few years I have picked up the habit again. I have made everything from blankets, dishcloths, pan scrubbers, stuffed animals and purses. For felting, you need a 100% wool yarn that will shrink down for you. I got this yarn out of my mom’s stash. She has a fiber business and lots of yarn.  Since I help her out, I get free yarn!

I was in need of a new pair of slippers and received some for Christmas. Within a couple weeks they had ripped and the sole was separating from the upper portion. Shows the high quality of Walmart products!  So, I decided to make a pair myself and I have been working on crocheted felted slippers for a few weeks now here and there in my spare time. I making a norwegian house slipper based on these children’s slippers at Mommy Know’s. I am guessing on the sizing (19 stiches/19 rows) and we will see how they felt down when I get them both done, but I thought I would share my progress with you so far. I have one completely crocheted and the other is close. I have 3 squares left, then sewing it together. Then to felt them, they go in the washing machine on hot and let them shrink up. You can see how big they are in the picture with my foot next to them! I am a 7 1/2! After they are felted and dry I will have to put some non slip stuff on the bottoms so I don’t break my neck on my wood floors! I have been reading about different methods for this and I think I will head to Joann’s and get the rubbery stuff that gets painted on the back of hook and latch rugs (with my 40% off coupon of course) and paint that on the bottoms. I have also read you can buy the stuff at home depot that they dip tool handles in and use that as well. I have to get them finished first! I will update when they are finished.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 07:52:27

    Very cute! Can you make me some socks? 😉

    Reply

  2. Purse Party
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 16:21:12

    I’ve been looking around Crafting: My in Progress Crocheted Slippers Coby's Corner and really am impressed by the great content here. I work the nightshift at my job and it is boring. I have been coming here for the previous couple nights and reading. I just needed to let you know that I’ve been enjoying what I’ve seen and I look ahead to reading more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

