Baking Day: Golden Potato Rolls

This past weekend my family and I went camping with our off roading jeep club. We decided to have a potluck on Saturday night. Of course, I volunteered to bring bread and dessert! So, I made these wonderful potato rolls out of  Cleo’s Creations or “the book”. What is “the book” you’re wondering? Well, many years ago my cousins and I all asked our grandma to put together all of our favorite recipes of hers into a cookbook. She spent an entire year sorting recipes, handwriting them all out and then my cousin put them all into books for us for the best Christmas gift I have ever gotten. We have over 250 pages of handwritten recipes from her. I have used mine so much over the years that I have had to replace my binder 3 times!

This recipe is one of my favorite bread recipes from the book. It takes some time, but these rolls have excellent flavor and are well worth the wait! I have made them into dinner rolls as well as hamburger and hotdog buns. The recipe calls for them to be rolled triangles similar to a crescent, but I always make dinner rolls. We like to use them for sandwiches, slider hamburgers or just to eat with dinner. They are the perfect size for my 3 year old when made as sandwiches and work wonderfully in lunches for the kids!

Golden Potato Rolls

1 pkg dry yeast or 2 1/4 teaspoons

1/2 cup warm water

Stir those together and set aside for a few minutes to bloom.

1 cup milk

3/4 cup butter

1 1/4 cups leftover mashed potatoes

1/2 cup sugar

2 teaspoons salt

2 eggs beaten

about 8 cups flour (I only use about 6 1/2, just depends on the day)

In a saucepan, combine milk, butter and potatoes, stir over low heat just until butter is melted. Remove from heat, place in large bowl and add sugar, salt and 2 cups of flour and the yeast mixture. Add eggs and mix well. Allow to sit covered with plastic for 2 hours. It will look bubbly like this.

Stir in enough of remaining flour to make a soft dough. Turn out on floured board and knead until smooth and elastic…about 6 minutes. Place in a greased bowl turning once to coat top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until double in bulk, about 1 hour. This is the freshly kneaded ball:

Punch down dough and divide into thirds. On a floured surface, roll each portion into a 12 inch circle. Cut each circle into 12 pie shaped pieces (pizza cutter works well for this). Beginning at the wide end roll up each wedge. Place rolls point side down 2 inches apart on greased baking sheets. Cover and let rise until almost double in size. Bake at 375° for about 15 minutes or until golden brown. Brush tops with butter while warm if you like. These freeze well and are totally worth the effort!

I did not make the rolled up style rolls. At the shaping stage above, I made dinner rolls instead. I take 1 1/2 ounces of dough (about a golf ball size) and shape into balls. In a 9×13 pan this is 3 rows of 5, you will get about 42 rolls this way. Then let rise and bake as usual. These are mine just as I put them on the oven (I used a large sheet pan that I have that holds 28 rolls):

Another tip: You can freeze the dough just after you shape it before the last rise on the pan or cookie sheet or whatever you use. After they are solid, put them in a baggie to save space. Then pull them out at about noon on the day to bake, let them thaw and rise. Then bake as above. You can also let them thaw in the fridge and just take them out to rise and bake. This is good for holidays. You can have fresh bread without all the work on the big day! According to my blogging friend Chef Tess Bakeresse, you should be able to let these rise all the way and then freeze and then bake directly from frozen. You can read about that HERE. I have not tried that with these rolls yet, but I have tried her freezer cinnamon rolls made from a dinner roll recipe and they are amazing! I only changed the frosting a bit and made it with less cream cheese, since Dallas is not a big fan of cream cheese icing.

Visit Ultimate Recipe Swap over at Life as Mom for more great recipes.
Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise Walker
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 19:29:21

    I had the pleasure of EATING some of these at the potluck and they were incredible. They went perfectly with that pasta dish that Mindy made. I wish I had that recipe too.

    The killer yummys of the night though were your brownie bites!!!. OMG sooooooooo good.

    i must stop thinking about food like this. 🙂

    Reply

  2. fattydumpling
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 19:37:22

    That bread! Looks so delicious! I didn’t know potato bread existed.

    Reply

  3. Chef Stephanie Petersen
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 08:32:23

    Way to go! Thanks for the shout out too. Your rolls look magnificent!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Lunchtime! An Ultimate Recipe Swap — Life As Mom

Leave a Reply

