Baking Day: Apple Oatmeal Whole Wheat Muffins

This week it was my turn to take a snack in for my son’s class at school. They send home a list every month of what to bring and which day is yours. I love that he is in private school and you can actually make things from home and take them in. definitely a bonus for me! Yesterday was Lance’s day to bring muffins, pears and milk. Since the school likes to limit sugar and use whole wheat and whole grains I went on a search for a new recipe. Last time, I was also given muffins and I made some wonderful Whole Wheat Pumpkin muffins back in December. After a few searches I came across an apple oatmeal muffin that looked like it would be great for the kids and I had all the ingredients on hand. Gotta love that! They turned out very tasty, I tried one, really I did. Are you surprized? Well, I had to test them out right?! They are more dense and less sweet than a traditional muffin, but I found them to be very flavorful.

Apple Oatmeal Whole Wheat Muffins

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 banana mashed

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

3/4 cup milk (the original called for soymilk, but I don’t particularly care for soymilk, so I used regular milk)

1 apple cut into chunks

1/4 cup walnuts chopped (optional, I left these out since we cannot use nuts for the kids)

Cut up your apple and preheat the oven to 350°. Mix all the dry ingredients. Mix the banana, applesauce and milk. Add wet ingredients, apple and nuts to the dry ingredients and stir just to combine. Place about a 1/4 cup in each hole in a greased or papered regular size muffin tin. It makes 12. Bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I thought I took a picture of the muffins, but I can’t find it. So, instead I will bring you some pictures by Lance. The camera is always in the kitchen now that I have this blog and take pictures of just about everything I make. It always seems to be covered in flour too!  Today, when I was working on something that will be featured next week, Lance decided he wanted to take a few pictures. Enjoy these abstract photos of my mixer done by my 3 year old!

For more whole grain recipes head over to Life as Mom for the Ultimate Recipe Swap.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hgh side effects
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 01:33:02

    Hi,very informative article. I found you blog from Bing. Keep it up and I’ll visit more often

    Reply

Leave a Reply

