What food means to me…

I have been debating as to what to post as my first entry on the blog. I figured, it should be about food. I am obsessed with food. It may be a little unnatural, but I just can’t help it.  Maybe, it’s because I like to eat it so much! I have been cooking and baking for as long as I can remember. It is something that I cherish. Food holds so many comforting memories of family and friends and the time we have shared together. It is a way for me to connect to the older generations of my family with recipes that have been handed down over time. The skills that have been passed down and learned through trial and error in the kitchen are priceless. I only hope that I will be able to pass these skills on to my child as well. At 3, Lance already loves to knead bread, roll dough, cut out cookies and put them on the cookie sheet. He is an excellent stirrer too!! So, we are working on those kitchen skills. I will not have one of those boys who goes off to college and can only make mac and cheese. Oh, he’ll be able to make mac and cheese, but it will be from scratch!

Food is a way that I can provide for my family.  I am not out in the world making a living, but I am providing in the best way that I can….to the bellies of my men! So, be on the lookout for great recipes, new and old, original and not, as well as tutorials on how I do everything from baking to shopping and meal planning.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Monette
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 14:49:40

    Coby,
    I love it!! So smart!! So many of us have been blessed with your “skills” and have had our bellies filled with your food. I am excited to see what you post. I have used several of your recipes and think this is such a fabulous idea. Doesn’t suprise me that it is from you. Thank you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

