The Pantry Challenge is Done!

I spent the month of January on a Pantry Challenge. Challenging myself to limit my grocery spending and using up what we had in the freezer and the pantry. I set a limit of $100 for my family of 3 and I only wanted to purchase produce and dairy for the month. I also ended up changing my rules allowing myself to spend money on items I needed for my doctor ordered diet change as well as any super deals I couldn’t pass up if my funds allowed. Last year I was able to swing it for $50 for the month. Not so much this year, but we had some changes. My diet restrictions placed on me by my doctor right as the challenge started as well as the fact that both Dallas and Lance are taking their lunches this year.

As of last week my total spending for the month was $94.06

I did go and get a few things later this past week:

over 12 lbs tomatoes (Mmmmmm Tomato Soup!)

a container of grape tomatoes

celery

cucumber

DRUM ROLL PLEASE…………………………………………………………………………………………………………My total for the month $98.78!!! Technically it’s not over until Monday, but our weekend is full and I won’t be shopping!

Can you see me dancing?! So, we still have lots of food. I know I stock up a lot, but if we really needed to we could live off our supply for 3 months easy! I like that peace of mind….or maybe just all the good deals, doesn’t matter I guess! The only thing we completely ran out of was eggs. And that was just yesterday. I will be limiting my spending again in February. I am challenging myself to keep it it $150. We are getting really low on a few essentials like cheese, which I stock up on at Sam’s club. I am increasing my budget a bit to allow for those few stock up items. Let’s see how February goes!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. noelle
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 17:38:08

    Wow! It certainly sounds like a success, especially with diet changes!
    Kudos to you!

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 19:33:03

    Congratulations on keeping under budget!! That’s wonderful!!! :-)

    Reply

  3. Tracey
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 06:36:41

    Congratulations – you did a great job! Sounds like you ate healthily and still stayed under budget!

    Reply

  4. Jenny
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 18:30:07

    Great job!

    Reply

  5. Mary @ a simple twist of faith
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 16:39:16

    Less than $100 for the month, wow!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Homemade “Sun Dried” Tomatoes « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

