Frugal Tip of the Week: Homemade Daily Granite Spray/Cleaner

Being a former health inspector I like to make sure that my countertops are clean and sanitized especially after working with raw meat. I have granite counters (by the way I DO NOT recommend them!) First I was using Target’s Method daily granite spray. It was ok. It cleaned the counters but did not sanitize and had quite a strong scent for me. I don’t like scents in my products much at all. Then I moved to using my homemade clorox anywhere spray, but I wanted something without the chemicals in bleach, as I am trying to reduce the chemicals we use in the house for cleaning. A quick search online and revealed I can use Vodka to kill bacteria and clean my counter with no residue or smell left behind. I had to try it! We had some vodka stashed in the cupboard, so I gave it a shot and I really like it. It’s safe around my kid and my pets (as long as they don’t drink a bunch :)) and it gets the job done!

The “recipe” for Vodka daily spray:

1 part vodka to 4 parts water.

Put in spray bottle.

I have a small sprayer (my old method one) that takes 1/4 c vodka and 1 cup water to fill.

Go to life as mom for more frugal tips.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 08:12:49

    The people that installed our granite told us regular old rubbing alcohol mixed 50/50 with water would work too. I use it and it works great.

    Reply

    • cobyscorner
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 08:23:04

      That’s a great idea too. I just want to eliminate toxic cleaning products from my household. Ethanol in vodka is safer than isopropyl alcohol in rubbing alcohol. Plus if my son were to get a hold of and drink the whole bottle of the granite spray (which would be very difficult for him to do in one swoop) he would only be getting 1/4 c of vodka.

      Reply

  2. granite cleaner
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 09:38:20

    this made me laugh but it is a good idea all the same

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

