Frugal Tip of the Week: Save All Those Containers

This week my frugal tip will be short and sweet. I was up late last night at a birthday party and I don’t tend to function well on a couple hours of sleep, so forgive me if this post is not quite up to par!

On to the tip, save all those containers. You know, the ones from sour cream, cottage cheese, big yogurt containers, ricotta cheese, cool whip, etc. I save all of mine so then I don’t have to buy those glad or ziplock reusable throw away containers.  As long as they have a number 5 on the bottom they can be used in the microwave and dishwasher safely, since that is the number on the bottom of the reusable containers.

I use them for freezing things like homemade chicken stock, chili and beef stroganoff. I use the smaller ones for freezing individual portions of soups for my lunches since Dallas is not a soup fan. They are great for sending leftovers home with dinner guests or storing your leftovers in the fridge. I just have some sticky labels that I attach to them with the contents.  They are usually similar in size, so many of the lids are interchangeable too! There you go, free containers!

Visit Frugal Friday’s over at Life as Mom for more great frugal tips.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 21:55:46

    They are great, too for taking food to a sick friend (and eliminating the hastle for them of returning containers). Also good for starting seeds in.

    Reply

  2. mom2fur
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 07:43:33

    Thanks for the tip about looking for the number 5! I never knew that before.

    Reply

  3. Denise Walker
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 12:22:31

    I did not know about the #5 hat is a great tip! I like to use containers like these to fold my freezer bags over to load them up for the freezer. I have a few that are bigger than my plastic cups and that is super handy.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Homemade Chicken Stock Tutorial « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

