Baking Day: Death by Breadsticks

If you haven’t it out yet, we are all about carbs here in this house! As teenagers my husband and I would buy bags of crazy bread at Little Caesar’s Pizza. This was not while we were together, mind you, just something each of us did. Yes, we really are made for each other!

About a year ago, I was really craving some of these wonderful breadsticks, but my frugal side said it was a waste of money to go out and buy these when I was sure I could make them myself if I could only find the recipe! Off to google I went. I found this wonderfully delicious recipe that has now become a definite staple in our house. Dallas requests these about once a week. When he sees them listed on my menu on the fridge he gets giddy! Who new bread could bring that out in a person….oh wait, I did know that. It does the same to me! This recipe makes about 8-12 large breadsticks. You can cut them in half to get more. Just so you know, our family of 3 usually eats the whole batch! Death by breadsticks…if you could OD on bread we would do it in this house!!!

Crazy Bread

2 1/2 cups flour

1 package or 2 1/4 teaspoon yeast

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup warm water

2 teaspoons sugar

Cooking Spray

Topping:

1/4 stick butter melted

1 teaspoon garlic salt (this can be adjusted to taste and the saltiness of the brand of garlic salt you have)

grated parmesan the dry kind in a canister

Mix yeast, sugar and water set aside for about 5 minute to bloom (that means it will get all foamy). Mix the rest of the dry ingredients. Stir in the wet mixture. Knead dough for 5 minutes or so. Cover and let dough rest 20 minutes in a warm place. Preheat oven to 450°. Flatten dough onto a cookie sheet or pizza stone so it’s about 1/2 and inch thick. I have done mine in a rectangle and in a round, whatever works. I like to cut my strips before I put it in the oven, but you don’t have to. Bake for about 10 minutes. Brush hot breadsticks with butter/garlic mixture and sprinkle with your desired amount of parmesan. ENJOY!

For more great recipes visit Life as Mom’s Ultimate Recipe Swap.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 14:18:02

    These look wonderful! I love crazy bread…I am going to have to make this for our pizza night next time.

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 11:05:42

    Oh my… this look great! I love crazy bread! Next time i make spaghetti I will be making some of these as well!

    http://is-it-naptime-yet.blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Menu Plan for the Week « Coby's Corner
  4. Trackback: Entering Week 4 of the Pantry Challenge….Menu Plan « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

