What’s for Dinner? Chicken Bacon Alfredo Bake

 

Dallas went out to lunch at Pat and Oscar’s one day with a buddy from work. It’s a pizza and pasta type place. That night he came home raving about the dish that his friend had ordered, telling me it was so good and that we could recreate it at home. After a few tries and some tweaking to the original concept, my Chicken Bacon Alfredo Bake was born. It’s easy, tasty and a great way to use up left-over chicken. Without further ado:

Chicken Bacon Alfredo Bake

2 cups dry penne pasta cooked 2 minutes short of being done

2 cups cooked chicken cut up

1/2 lb or so of cooked bacon crumbled

1 jar alfredo sauce

3 cups mozzarella cheese

Put all ingredients and half the cheese in a 9×9 casserole dish and stir. Top with the rest of the cheese. Bake at 350° for about 25 minutes or until hot and bubbly. That’s it!

I used leftover roasted chicken from the night before and bacon that I have precooked in the freezer (tutorial on this forthcoming). So, you many have noticed that this is not the healthiest dish on the planet! In my attempt to make it a little better, I used Barilla whole wheat penne pasta and Ragu light parmesan alfredo sauce. Just a tip, barilla regularly has coupons for $0.75 off pair that with a sale, like the 10 for $10 they had at Von’s a few weeks ago and you have some super cheap pasta. When there is a sale like that I stock up!!!  I have about 6 boxes in my pantry right now. Also, wait for the Ragu to go on sale too. I got some on sale for 4 for $5 with a coupon for $1.00 off 2 making them $0.75 each. This is a little taste of how I do my grocery shopping. I use a combination of printable coupons and sunday insert coupons (I usually have 3 sets of these, one from our paper and 2 sets from my parents).  Later I will do a more detailed post about stockpiling and menu planning from your pantry.

For more great recipes visit the Ultimate Recipe Swap at Life as Mom.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Perfect Bacon « Coby's Corner
  2. Melissa
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 08:18:58

    I only needed to read the title of the recipe to know that I wanted to try it!! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Anna
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 14:01:32

    I just stocked up on pasta and sauce this week. I think we have everything we need to try this recipe. It looks yummy!

    Reply

  4. Bitterroot mama
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 16:09:43

    I’m making this tonight for dinner again. It’s my husband’s birthday and one of his favorite dishes. Thanks for the inspirational recipe!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Menu Plan For the Week « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

