Frugal Tip of the Week

I will be starting a weekly feature on the blog. The frugal tip of the week. These will be some of the things I do in order to save money in many aspects of running a home. Many of my tips will be on the basis of making things from scratch. This weeks tip is not an exception to that. My first frugal tip….Make your own laundry soap. Yes, homemade laundry detergent. Did you know that was possible? Did you know that it is much cheaper than purchasing laundry soap? Did you know that it is SUPER easy?

 It is all of those things and more! It took me 5 minutes to make mine! And the best part…it only costs 2 cents per load. Yes, that is right, only 2 cents! It is also very gentle on the skin. We have super sensitive skin in this family. Most of the comercially prepared detergents give one or more of us hives. I was using a natural laundry soap that I had to order online. Then I did some research and found I can make a detergent that does what my all natural detergent did. This simple detergent cleans well, uses ingredients that are easy to find and CHEAP!

Here is what you need:

2 cups finely grated Zote Soap

1 cup Borax

1 cup Super Washing Soda

Mix and use 1 Tablespoon per load, 2 if you’re really dirty! That’s it, easy peasy.

 

 I get my Zote at Big Lots for $0.80 a bar. I have also seen it at Walmart and Stater Bros for around $1. It makes about 3 cups grated per bar.  The Borax is about $3 at most grocery stores or Walmart.  I think there was enough for about 11 batches in the box. The washing soda was a bit harder to find. I got mine at a local non-chain grocery store for $3.50. There was enough for about 5 batches in the box. I have heard that Albertson’s carries it or you can call 1-800-524-1328 and ask for a location near you that carries it. All of these products are found in the laundry isle. There are other soaps you can use in place of the Zote as well. Click here for a list of several homemade laundry soaps. For more frugal tips, visit Life as Mom Frugal Fridays.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rosella Powderly, Retail Magazine
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 21:14:10

    Nicely composed! Can I use this article for my web site? I will put a link. Thanks :)

    Reply

  2. Barb
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 21:27:05

    We just switched to homemade laundry soap about a month ago. We really like it! The amount it makes is wonderful and it is so inexpensive!
    Blessings!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Retail Guru
  4. Trackback: Frugal Tip of the Week: Update on Homemade Laundry Detergent « Coby's Corner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

